Categories
You are here: Janice Jakait

Janice Jakait

 


Rowing across the Atlantic

Janice Jakait
Across the Atlantic by rowing boat: This is Jakait Janice's ambitious goal. She would be the first German to implement this project. But Janice, who is equipped with Aquapac waterproof cases for this adventure would not Janice, if she would not pursue other goals. "Row for silence" is her motto and to inspire people to environmental and marine conservation. "Rowing for our interests, for our children, for a world they deserve." Every day, whales and dolphins would be killed by the noise caused by the industrial use of the ocean. Janice Jakait: "We are about to wipe out these wonderful creatures." With her project she wants to help save these endangered mammals.


The preparations

Currently, Janice is in the midst of the preparations for the trip that leads her over 3500 nautical miles and less than 100 days from Portugal to Antigua in the Caribbean. Start will be on the 21st of november 2011. But diligent preparation takes time. The boat must be prepared, machinery installed and equipment reviewed. Added to this contacts to the sponsors and of course training, training, training. Because Janice wants to row exhausting six times two hours per day. And where others want to keep a strict diet, Janice trains the opposite: to get her body used to accept up to 8000 kcal per day.


The Sponsor

Aquapac will play its part in contributing to Janice's safe and sound return. We equip the extreme-rower with our waterproof bags for all her electronic equipment. Whether it's the GPS, tablet PC, satellite telephone, radio or even the MP-3 player: For all devices, we have appropriate, safe and waterproof bags. And she will stow her personal valuables such as passports, papers and licenses necessary for the Atlantic crossing securely in Aquapacs.

More about Janice and her project: www.rowforsilence.com

Good luck!!

top


Janice Jakait Aquapac
Update I:

Only a few days, then on 23 November 2011 Janice Jakait will put to sea at the Portuguese Atlantic coast. In four months she will have achieved her goal, the Antillean island Antigua in the middle of the Caribbean. The rower would be the first German woman who had crossed the Atlantic in a rowing boat. Correspondingly large was the media interest in recent weeks. Virtually all national newspapers, magazines and television stations reported on the upcoming trip. The ZDF, for example, will send a live stream from the boat via its blog.

The preparations to the boat, equipment and materials are now complete. Everything is in excellent condition, checked and stowed there, where it belongs. Also, the daily rations of food for four months at sea are packed. As well as the electronic devices that are stored in our waterproof Aquapacs. The boat is now being transported to Portugal in early November, where the final preparations are made before it starts on 21 November ... Janice also has meticulously prepared herself mentally and physically for the rigors.

For those who want to know more about the state of affairs: www.rowforsilence.com


Update II, on Sea:

Janice Jakait Aquapac Row for Silence
Picture of the 4th of december 2011: struggle against 6m waves, 600 of 6500km are rowed.

Since the 23rd of november, 12 a.m. Janice Jakait is on her trip from Portimao, Portugal, across the Atlantic to Antigua, carribean sea: All the best!

Some experiences after nearly 1800km on the 19th of December 2011: "I'm sweating, everything films up. Clothes, books, all wet. My high tech electronic which isn't waterproof isn't working anymore. Everything I haven't put into an Aquapac I declare it to a rosting damp biotope ...".


Update III- half way through:

On 5 January 2012 Janice Jakait managed half of her Atlantic crossing: 3150 km in 42.5 days. And she already experienced a lot: storm, eight-meter waves, calm, heat, near collision, flying fish in the cockpit, shark visits, broken bilge pump, flooded cabin and what's all part of such an adventure. In the middle of the Atlantic she let the cat out of the bag. She will not row to Antigua, but to Port Charles in Barbados - a "few" kilometers further south. With the launch in Portimao, Portugal, a very challenging crossing.


Update IV -almost done:

Only a few kilometers out of 6500 left. German rowing girl Janice Jakait is expected to cross the finish line of her rowing-adventure across the atlantic ocean near Barbados on monday morning, 20th of february 2012. In the evening she wants to ashore at Port Charles, after nearly 90 days on sea...


Update V - she did it!

Aquapac Janice Jakait Barbados Port Charles
Janice Jakait at her arrival at Port Charles, Barbados - after 90 days on the atlantic ocean

Janice Jakait did it: As the first German she has crossed the Atlantic in a rowing boat. Today, 21 February 2012 at 1:36 local time she arrived at Port Charles in Barbados. 6309.9 km and 90 days, five hours and 38 minutes on the deep sea lying behind the extreme athlete. Janice: "Now I'm looking forward to a warm shower and a non-wavering bed."
Aquapac had equipped Janice Jakait with waterproof bags for her crossing.

Congratulations! Well done, an admirable performance, both physically and mentally.

For those who wants to know live how the adventure runs: Live-Tracking

top


Update VI: Now the pacific ocean?

One year later, Janice Jakait already forges out new plans. This time it will be the Pacific, as Janice Jakait revealed us visiting our booth at the boot Dusseldorf 2013. She does not know yet when it should start exactly. It may take a bit to mentally accomodate to such a project. But one thing is certain: She will again have Aquapacs on board. Janice: "Those were the only bags in which everything actually stayed dry."

top


Update VII: Now a book

janice jakait aquapac wasserdicht Tasche Atlantik Aquaman
Two years after her Atlantic crossing Janice Jakait has released her adventure in a book: "Tosende Stille - Eine Frau rudert über den Atlantik (Roaring Silence - A woman rows across the Atlantic)". An exceptional sports performance. A journey to herself, her publisher writes. As the first German she crosses the Atlantic: alone and only with muscle power. "Row for silence," she calls her initiative with which she wants to draw attention to the underwater noise that has fatal consequences for marine mammals and fish. But she also wants to defeat her inner turmoil, meet herself in silence. For 90 days, 6500 kilometers and a million strokes she holds her ground against the powers, against hunger and fatigue - and finally arrives, not only in Barbados, but also in herself.

In Portimão, Portugal she set out with her specially equipped rowboat Bifröst heading for Barbados. The extreme athlete has planned a hard program: Ten to twelve hours a day she rowed in two-hour shifts. Seasickness and insomnia, heat and sharks wore her out. But she is more than compensated: for days she was accompanied by whales and dolphins, she experienced fascinating natural spectacles - but above all she found an unprecedented inner peace in the silence of the ocean. Janice Jakait: "The ocean has hooked me, I'm on its dripping needle. Salt water flows through my veins - right into the beating heart."

That's why she has other plans: first across the Pacific Ocean with a sailboat, then across the Indian Ocean.

Aquapac will take part again.

top

 

 

Facebook YouTube Immerse Yourself - 25 Years aquapac.de

Copyright © 2017 Aquapac-Aquaman Deutschland GmbH. All rights reserved. Aquapac manufactures waterproof phone cases, waterproof camera cases, underwater iPod cases, drybags, waterproof backpacks, waterproof duffels and waterproof bags, cases and pouches for MP3, GPS, VHF, radios, radio microphones, laptops, notebooks, insulin pumps, binoculars, maps and more. Aquapac, Aquaclip, Immerse Yourself, Kaituna, Keymaster, Lenzflex, Noatak, PackDivider, Puncture Patches, Toccoa, Upano, Wet & Dry, Whanganui, and the A Aquapac Figurative Mark are trademarks of Aquapac International Limited. BlackBerry Bold and BlackBerry Playbook are trademarks of Research in Motion Limited. Droid is a trademark of Lucasfilm Ltd. and its related companies. Galaxy, Galaxy Note and Galaxy Tab are trademarks of Samsung Electronics Co. Ltd. Genie is a trademark of LOCOSYS Technology, Inc. HTC Desire and HTC Incredible are trademarks of HTC Corporation. iPad, iPhone and iPod are trademarks of Apple, Inc. Kindle is a trademark of Amazon, Inc. Nook is a trademark of Barnesandnoble.com LLC. Razr, Droid and Xoom are trademarks of Motorola Trademark Holdings, LLC. Reader is a trademark of Sony Electronics Inc. Velcro is a trademark of Velcro Industries B.V. The brand Dicapac™ is the sole property of DiCaPac Ltd., Korea; the brands Breffo™ and Spiderpodium™ are the sole property of breffo Ltd., Cardiff, UK; the brand Aryca™ is the sole property of Aryca Sports Co. Ltd., Shenzhen, China; the brands McNett™ and Nitestik™ are the sole property of McNett Europe GmbH, respectively the Aquapac-Aquaman Germany GmbH, Donaliesstr. 2 b, 31675 Bückeburg, Germany, as a licensed distributor. When visiting our homepage and shop, it might be possible that we have to put cookies on your computer. No data of the user will be stored, only the protocol of the internet-address. This information is used by our server to recognize you when visiting our homepage next time - to make the navigation easier for you. If you do not want our cookies on your computer please activate “no cookies accepted” in your browser. Design and implementation by Blackbit neue Werbung neue Medien GmbH Göttingen.

Kategorien
Sie sind hier: Janice Jakait

Janice Jakait

 


Mit dem Ruderboot über den Atlantik

Janice Jakait

Mit dem Ruderboot über den Atlantik: Dieses ehrgeizige Ziel hat sich Janice Jakait gesetzt. Sie wäre die erste Deutsche, die dieses Vorhaben verwirklichen könnte. Aber Janice, die von Aquapac mit wasserdichten Taschen für dieses Abenteuer ausgerüstet wird, wäre nicht Janice, wenn Sie nicht weitere Ziele verfolgen würde. „Row for silence", also „Rudern für die Stille" hat sich die Speyerin auf die Fahnen geschrieben und will Menschen für Umwelt- und Meeresschutz begeistern. „Rudern für unsere Interessen, für unsere Kinder, für eine Welt, die sie verdienen." Täglich würden Wale und Delfine durch den Lärm getötet, der durch die industrielle Nutzung der Weltmeere entsteht. Janice Jakait: „Wir sind im Begriff, diese wunderbaren Geschöpfe auszurotten." Sie wolle  mit ihrem Projekt ihren Beitrag zur Rettung dieser bedrohten Säugetiere beitragen.

 


8000 kcal am Tag

Die 'Vorbereitungen für den Trip, der Janice über 6500 Kilometer, mehr als eine Million Ruderschläge und deutlich weniger als vier Monate von Portugal nach Antigua in der Karibik bringen wird, dauerten über zwei Jahre.Gewissenhafte Vorbereitung dauert. Das Boot musste hergerichtet werden, Technik eingebaut und Ausrüstung überprüft werden. Dazu kamen Kontakte mit den Sponsoren und natürlich Training, Training, Training. Denn täglich will Janice kräftezehrende sechs Mal zwei Stunden rudern. Und wo andere strenge Diät halten, trainierte Janice das Gegenteil: ihren Körper an die Aufnahme von bis zu 8000 kcal täglich zu gewöhnen. Obwohl Sie schon jetzt weiß: "WEnn ich ankomme, habe ich 20 Kilo abgenommen.

 


Alles sicher

Damit Janice sicher und heil zurückkommt, dazu wird Aquapac seinen Teil mit beitragen. Wir haben die Extrem-Ruderin mit unseren wasserdichten Taschen für ihre gesamte elektronische Ausrüstung ausgerüstet. Sei es GPS, Tablet-PC, Satelliten-Telefon, Funkgeräte oder auch nur den MP-3-Player: Für alle Geräte haben wir die passenden, wasserdichten und sicheren Taschen. Einige unserer Taschen hat Janice immer im Auge: festgeschnallt im Cockpit, damit Sie sieht, wohin Sie steuert, wohin Wind oder Strömung ihre "Bifröst" (schwankende Himmelsstraße, aus der germanischen Mythologie) versetzen.Und auch ihre persönlichen Wertgegenstände wie Ausweise, Papiere und für die Atlantik-Überquerung erforderlichen Lizenzen wird die Umweltschützerin in Taschen von Aquapac verstauen.

Wer mehr über Janice und Ihr Projekt erfahren will: www.rowforsilence.com

nach oben


Janice Jakait Aquapac

Update I - die Vorbereitung:

Nur noch wenige Tage, dann wird Janice Jakait am 23. November 2011 (wegen eines Sturms wurde der  21. November gecancelt) an der portugiesischen Atlantikküste in Portimao in See stechen. In vier Monaten will sie ihr Ziel erreicht haben: die Antilleninsel Antigua mitten in der Karibik. Die Ruderin wäre die erste Deutsche, die den Atlantik in einem Ruderboot überquert hätte. Entsprechend groß war in den vergangenen Wochen das Medieninteresse. So gut wie alle überregionalen Zeitungen, Zeitschriften und Fernsehsender berichteten über den bevorstehenden Trip. Das ZDF wird zum Beispiel während der Überquerung einen eigenen Livestream vom Boot der Ruderin über seinen Blog senden.

Die Vorbereitungen an Boot, Material und Ausrüstung sind soweit abgeschlossen. Alles ist in bestem Zustand, überprüft und dort verstaut, wo es hingehört. Auch die Tagesrationen für vier Monate Essen auf See sind verpackt. Ebenso die elektronischen Geräte, die wasserdicht in unseren Auqapacs verstaut sind. Das Boot wird jetzt Anfang November nach Portugal transportiert, wo dann vor Ort die letzten Vorbereitungen getroffen werden, ehe es am 21. November losgeht ... Auch Janice selbst hat sich akribisch mental und körperlich auf die Strapazen vorbereitet.

Wer mehr über den letzten Stand der Dinge wissen möchte: www.rowforsilence.de

 


Update II - der Start:

Janice Jakait Aquapac Row for Silence
Foto vom 4. Dezember 2011: Janice in sechs Meter hohen Wellen in der Höhe von Marokko. 600 von 6500 Kilometer sind geschafft.

Seit dem 23. November 2011, Punkt 12 Uhr, ist Janice Jakait von Portimao, Portugal unterwegs über den Atlantik bis Antigua (Karibik): Wir drücken die Daumen und wünschen alles Beste!

Knapp 1800 Kilometer hat Sie am 19.Dezember 2011 hinter sich und reichlich Erfahrungen gesammelt. So wie diese: "Ich schwitze, alles läuft an. Klamotten, Bücher, alles nass. Meine nicht wasserdichten elektronischen Hightech Spielzeuge steigen der Reihe nach aus. Alles was nicht in Aquapacs gepackt war - erkläre ich hiermit zum rostenden Feuchtbiotop."

nach oben


Update III - die Hälfte geschafft:

Janice Jakait hat am 5. Januar 2012 die Hälfte ihrer Atlantik-Überquerung geschafft:  3150 Kilometer in 42,5 Tagen. Und schon eine Menge erlebt: Sturm, acht Meter hohe Wellen, Flaute, Hitze, Beinahezusammenstoß, fliegende Fische im Cockpit, Hai-Besuche, kaputte Lenzpumpe, überschwemmte Schlafkabine und was so alles zu einem solchen Abenteuer gehört. Mitten auf dem Atlantik ließ sie auch die Katze aus dem Sack. Sie wird nicht Antigua ansteuern, sondern Port Charles auf Barbados - noch "ein paar Kilometer" weiter südlich. Und mit dem Start in Portimao, Portugal, eine sehr anspruchsvolle Überquerung.

 


Update IV -fast geschafft

Nur noch wenige Tage - dann hat Janice Jakait als erste Deutsche die Überquerung des Atlantiks in einem Ruderboot geschafft. Am Morgen des 20. Februar 2012 will sie die imaginäre Ziellinie bei Barbados überqueren und noch am Abend im Hafen von Port Charles anlegen- nach fast 90 Tagen auf See. Kein leichtes Unterfangen, denn nun ist ruderisches Geschick gefragt, exakt den Hafen zu treffen. Zumal Barbados von einer Reihe von Korallenriffen umgeben ist. ..

 


Update V - geschafft!

Aquapac Janice Jakait Barbados Port Charles
Janice Jakait bei ihrer Ankunft in Port Charles, Barbados

Janice Jakait hat es geschafft: Sie hat als erste Deutsche den Atlantik in einem Ruderboot überquert. Punkt 1:36 Uhr Ortszeit ruderte Sie heute, 21. Februar 2012, in den Hafen Port Charles auf Barbados. 6309,9 Kilometer und 90 Tage, fünf Stunden und 38 Minuten auf hoher See liegen hinter der Extremsportlerin. Die sie jetzt nur noch auf eines freut: "Festes Land unter den Füßen, eine Dusche und ein nicht schwankendes Bett."

Aquapac hat Janice Jakait mit wasserdichten Taschen für ihre Überquerung ausgerüstet.

Herzlichen Glückwunsch! Gut gemacht, eine bewunderswerte Leistung, körperlich und mental.

 

Wer live verfolgen will, wo Janice Jakait gerade auf dem Atlantik ist, und wie weit Sie es noch hat:

Live-Tracking


Update VI: Jetzt über den Pazifik?

Ein Jahr später schmiedet Janice Jakait bereits neue Pläne. Dieses Mal soll es der Pazifik sein, wie uns Janice Jakait bei einem Besuch unserer Standes auf der Boot Düsseldorf 2013 verriet. Wann es genau losgehen soll, weiß Sie noch nicht. Es kann noch ein bisschen dauern, sich mental auf ein solches Projekt einzulassen. Aber eins ist sicher: Sie wird wieder Aquapacs an Bord haben. Janice: "Das waren die einzigen Taschen, in denen tatsächlich alles trocken geblieben ist."

nach oben


Update VII: Nun ein Buch

janice jakait aquapac wasserdicht Tasche Atlantik Aquaman

Gut zwei Jahre nach ihrer Atlantik-Überquerung hat Janice Jakait ihr Abenteuer in einem Buch veröffentlicht: "Tosende Stille - Eine Frau rudert über den Atlantik". Eine sportliche Ausnahmeleistung. Eine Reise zu sich selbst, schreibt ihr Verlag. Als erste Deutsche wird sie den Atlantik überqueren: allein und nur mit Muskelkraft. »Row for silence« nennt sie ihre Aktion, mit der sie auf den Unterwasserlärm aufmerksam machen will, der für Meeressäuger und Fische tödliche Folgen hat. Aber sie will auch ihre innere Unruhe besiegen, sich selbst in der Stille begegnen. 90 Tage, 6500 Kilometer und eine Million Ruderschläge lang behauptet sie sich gegen die Gewalten, gegen Hunger und Müdigkeit - und ist schließlich nicht nur in Barbados, sondern auch bei sich selbst angekommen.

Im portugiesischen Portimão bricht sie in dem speziell für ihre Bedürfnisse ausgerüsteten Ruderboot Bifröst mit Ziel Barbados auf. Die Extrem-Sportlerin hat sich ein hartes Programm vorgenommen: Zehn bis zwölf Stunden täglich rudert sie in je zweistündigen Schichten. Seekrankheit und Schlafstörungen, Hitze und Haie zehren an ihren Nerven. Doch sie wird mehr als entschädigt: Tagelang begleiten sie Wale und Delfine, sie erlebt faszinierende Naturschauspiele - vor allem aber findet sie in der Stille des Ozeans eine nie gekannte innere Ruhe. Janice Jakait: "Der Ozean hat mich angefixt, ich hänge an seiner tropfenden Nadel. Salzwasser strömt durch meine Venen - mitten ins schlagende Herz!"

Deswegen hat sie weitere Pläne: zunächst mit dem Segelboot über den Pazifik, dann über den Indischen Ozean.

Aquapac wird wieder dabei sein.

 

nach oben

 

 

 

 

Facebook YouTube 100% wasserdicht - 25 Jahre aquapac.de

Copyright © 2017 Aquapac-Aquaman Deutschland GmbH. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Aquapac produziert wasserdichte Telefon- und Smartphone-Taschen, wasserdichte Kamerataschen, Unterwasser iPod-Cases, wasserdichte Rucksäcke, wasserdichte Reisetaschen und wasserdichte Beutel sowie wasserdichte Taschen für MP3, GPS, VHF, Funksprechgeräte, Mikrophone, Laptops, Notebooks, Tablets, Mini Tablets, Insulinpumpen, Fernglas, Karten und alle Arten sonstiger elektronischer Geräte. Aquapac, Aquaclip, Immerse Yourself, Kaituna, Keymaster, Lenzflex, Noatak, PackDivider, Puncture Patches, Toccoa, Upano, Wet & Dry, Whanganui und das A Aquapac Symbol sind Trademarks von Aquapac International Limited. BlackBerry Bold und BlackBerry Playbook sind Trademarks of Research in Motion Limited. Droid ist Trademark von Lucasfilm Ltd. und verbundenen Firmen. Galaxy, Galaxy Note und Galaxy Tab sind Trademarks von Samsung Electronics Co. Ltd. Genius ist Trademark von LOCOSYS Technology, Inc. HTC Desire und HTC Incredible sind Trademarks der HTC Corporation. iPad, iPhone and iPod sind Trademarks von Apple, Inc. Kindle ist Trademark von Amazon, Inc. Nook ist Trademark of Barnesandnoble.com LLC. Razr, Xoom und Droid sind Trademarks von Motorola Trademark Holdings, LLC. Reader ist Trademark von Sony Electronics Inc. Velcro ist ein Trademark von Velcro Industries B.V. Weitere erwähnte Namen und Bezeichnungen sind Trademarks der betreffenden Firmen. Die Marke Dicapac™ ist im alleinigen Eigentum der DiCaPac Ltd. Korea; die Marke Breffo™ und Spiderpodium™ ist im alleinigen Eigentum der breffo Ltd., Cardiff, UK; die Marke Aryca™ ist im alleinigen Eigentum von Aryca Sports Co. Ltd, Shenzhen, China; die Marke Wisepac™ ist im alleinigen Eigentum der Wisepac-Verpackungen, Shanghai, China; die Marke Nitestik™ und McNett™ ist im alleinigen Eigentum der McNett Europe GmbH bzw. der Aquapac-Aquaman Deutschland GmbH, Donaliesstr. 2 b, 31675 Bückeburg, Deutschland, als lizenzierter Distributor. Wenn Sie eine unserer Websites besuchen, kann es sein, dass wir Informationen in Form eines Cookies auf Ihrem Computer ablegen. Dabei werden keinerlei persönliche Daten des Nutzers gespeichert, sondern nur die Internetprotokoll–Adresse. Diese Informationen dienen dazu, Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch auf unseren Websites automatisch wiederzuerkennen und Ihnen die Navigation zu erleichtern. Wenn Sie nicht möchten, dass wir Ihren Computer wieder erkennen, kann das Speichern von Cookies auf Ihrer Festplatte verhindern werden, indem Sie in Ihren Browser-Einstellungen "keine Cookies akzeptieren" wählen. Design und Umsetzung von Commodule UG (haftungsbeschränkt).